Hofgut Sickertshofen
History with soul, future with roots
Anyone strolling through the idyllic Sickertshofen in the municipality of Schwabhausen has little idea of the eventful history hidden behind the walls of the estate. For more than a millennium, this place has shaped the landscape, the people – and the memory.
740-859 – The beginnings in the early Middle Ages
As early as 740 – at the time of the Frankish expansion – a Roman mercenary is said to have received a piece of land in the Dachau region in recognition of his services. This early gift marks the beginning of a long period of agricultural use of the area.
The first documented mention dates back to 859. Even then, Sickertshofen played an important role: both as an agricultural village and as part of ecclesiastical structures.
938-1803 – Church property and spiritual center
From 938, the estate was owned by the diocese of Freising. In 1376, the Augustinian canon monastery of Indersdorf took over the estate. During this time, the estate flourished and developed into a central provider in the service of the monastery.
A highlight of this era: the construction of the Holy Trinity Chapel, probably built in the 14th century and first mentioned in 1524. Its Gothic frescoes – including the Last Supper and the Mount of Olives scene – are among the most important art treasures in the region.
1803-1926 – Secularization and decay
With the secularization in 1803, the estate was nationalized. It changed hands several times over the following decades. The once flourishing estate lost its importance and the chapel also fell into disrepair.
1926-1945 – A new beginning with Albert and Ida Loock
A new chapter begins in 1926: Albert and Ida Loock from Kleve on the Lower Rhine acquire the run-down estate. Albert describes its condition in a letter:
“All the roofs were dilapidated, nine large oak trees around the farm had been felled, the forest had been cut down and the animals were sick.”
Albert Loock rebuilds the farm with courage and an entrepreneurial spirit:
- He establishes successful cattle and pig breeding
- One of the first to introduce sugar beet in the district
- Works with IG Farben on agricultural field trials
- Ida Loock entertains guests in the historic farmhouse parlor
Albert was also involved in community life – as chairman of TSV Schwabhausen, he initiated the construction of the first gymnasium (now JUZ) in 1930.
1945-1986 – War, reconstruction and spiritual commitment
After the war, the house and church are full of refugees. The only son, Josef Loock, returns from the front seriously wounded. He works tirelessly to preserve the court chapel.
Käthe Loock, his wife from the Protestant town of Coburg, organizes Protestant church services on the farm from the 1950s onwards. The Christmas vespers she initiated became an annual tradition far beyond Schwabhausen.
In 1981, the chapel is officially transferred from the archdiocese to Josef Loock. Extensive renovation work followed in 1986, including the uncovering of the Gothic frescoes and the installation of Solnhofer tiles.
1976-1995 – Agricultural change and generational change
In 1976, dairy farming is abandoned and the company concentrates on cattle and pig fattening instead.
In 1995, Ulrich Loock (born 1954) takes over the business from his father Josef.
From 1988 – The pumpkin queen Walburga Loock and the festival for the senses
Walburga Loock, Ulrich’s wife, began growing pumpkins at the end of the 1980s. What began as an experiment developed into a unique selling point:
- Over 120 varieties now grow on the farm in the fall
- Her books and recipes are very well received
- With a twinkle in her eye, she becomes the “Pumpkin Pope of Europe”
The “Art & Pumpkin” festival has been taking place every year since 2003 – with crafts, music, culinary delights and art in autumnal splendor. A crowd-puller for thousands of visitors.
From 2011 – The change to a place of special moments
From 2011, the former cattle shed will be lovingly converted into a stylish event location, the Gewolbesaal.
Two elegant rooms will be added in 2021:
- The Beletage, stylish and bright
- The orangery, with a view of the greenery
In 2025, a charming Getting Ready Apartment will be added to the offer – for relaxed preparations and special moments before the party.
From 2021 – new generation, new perspectives
Stephan Loock (born 1986) takes over the farm in 2021. Under his management, Sickertshofen becomes a place that combines tradition and the future:
- Sustainable agriculture with a regional focus
- Monument preservation and cultural events
- Solar systems, biogas plant and pumpkin variety
A creative center for art, nature and encounters.
A place that remains – in change and permanence
History of the Sickertshofen farm
The site of today’s Sickertshofen was originally bequeathed to a former Roman mercenary as thanks for his services.
From 1376 and until shortly before secularization, “Sickershoven” – consisting of 1 ½ farmsteads and three so-called Sölden (1/8 farmsteads) as well as the court church – belonged to the Augustinian canon monastery of Indersdorf.
Since the abolition of the manorial system in 1848, the farm has repeatedly fallen into new hands.
In 1908, the farmer Johann Kistler sold the estate to Philipp Fellmann and his wife Marzella, daughter of the Dachau notary Rothballer. (Picture carriage from 1915)
At the same time, the notary’s daughter did not feel comfortable in her role as farmer’s wife (according to her granddaughter), so that it was sold to Albert and Ida Loock from Kleve/Lower Rhine on April 9, 1926.
A letter from Albert to his descendants bears witness to the situation at the time:
“All the roofs were dilapidated, nine large oak trees around the farm had been felled, the forest had been completely cut down, and the animals that were still in the barn had foot-and-mouth disease…
Albert Loock rebuilt the farm: he ran a successful cattle and pig farm, was one of the first sugar beet growers in the district, and made sugar beet on behalf of the fertilizer manufacturer IG Farben Field trials. The gentlemen from the company came every year to inspect the field plots and were then entertained by Ida in the large farmhouse parlor – the only one in the district of Dachau from the old days.
Albert Loock was elected chairman of TSV Schwabhausen and, together with dedicated TSV members, built the first gymnasium in the community in 1930, today the children’s and youth center JUZ.
The turmoil of the Second World War hit the family hard: the only son Josef, born in 1926, was seriously wounded on the Russian front. At the end of the war, refugee families were accommodated not only in every room of the house, but also in the church.
The displaced persons found work on the farm. Over the years, Josef Loock had worked with great ideological and financial commitment to preserve the small farm church.
Käthe Loock, born in 1926 in Coburg, a town with a Protestant character, organized Protestant Sunday services and thus gave the many Protestant exiles a new spiritual home. Children were baptized here, and a Protestant Christmas Vespers service was held, which still attracts visitors today because of its homely atmosphere – even far beyond Schwabhausen.
It was therefore understandable that the archdiocese placed the church in Josef Loock’s hands in 1981.
In 1986, he carried out extensive renovation work in consultation with the State Office for Monument Protection. Frescoes were uncovered, the walls were underpinned meter by meter and the roof truss was renewed…; the old brick floor was replaced by Solnhofer tiles.
A lot had also changed in agriculture:
In 1976, dairy farming and pig breeding were abandoned and replaced by cattle and pig fattening.
The farm was handed over to Ulrich Loock, born in 1954, in 1995.
The farm was handed over to Stephan Loock, born 1986, in 2021.
Hofgut Sickertshofen
News
“Star chefs buy their pumpkins from this woman” – Interview with Walburga Loock
Süddeutsche Zeitung, October 21, 2020
“Not just pumpkins” – art & pumpkin festival report
Süddeutsche Zeitung, September 29, 2024
“Winter magic” – winter festival at Hofgut Sickertshofen
Süddeutsche Zeitung, December 12, 2022
“Enjoying music for a good cause” – charity concert at the farm
Süddeutsche Zeitung, December 11, 2022
How to find us
Share with friends...
Latest news on social media
Contact us
Hofgut Sickertshofen
Sickertshofen 1
85247 Schwabhausen
info@hofgut-sickertshofen.de
Contact form
By submitting the form you agree to the data protection conditions.